Rugby in Scotland

International rugby
Scotland boasts a proud rugby heritage and its international rugby weekends bring the country to life with thousands of visiting fans mixing with the local rugby followers creating an unrivalled blend of camaraderie and friendly banter.

Scottish rugby dates back to 1871 when they beat England in the first international rugby union match, at Raeburn Place, Edinburgh, and so began the rivalry between the two national teams that still exists today and creates a great atmosphere when they go up against each other every year for the Calcutta Cup. Scotland's home ground at Murrayfield, Edinburgh has a seated capacity of 67,800. As well as Six Nations matches, Murrayfield hosts Scotland games against other countries, from South Africa to Samoa.  

rugby supporters

supporters at the IRB Sevens Festival of Rugby at Murrayfield, Edinburgh

Six Nations
The RBS 6 Nations Championship
is an annual international rugby union competition held between six European sides: Scotland, England, Wales, Ireland, France and Italy. Since the start of the Five Nations, which existed up to 2000, Scotland won the tournament a total of 14 times but has yet to win since the tournament increased to Six Nations. Their biggest victory to date in all competitions came in 2004 when they beat Japan 100-8 and their best World Cup placing so far was in 1991 when they finished fourth. In the 2012 competition, Scotland play England at France at home, and Wales, Ireland and Italy away.

Edinburgh 7s
The IRB Sevens is a series of international rugby union sevens tournaments with the Scottish finale - the Edinburgh 7s - played at Murrayfield.

Club rugby
Scotland is home to two professional rugby union teams; Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors who battle it out in the RaboDirect PRO12 league each season along with Irish and Welsh teams. Edinburgh play their matches at Murrayfield, Glasgow at Firhill.

rugby heineken

Heineken Cup Final action at Murrayfield - Leicester Tigers v. Leinster

Heineken Cup
The Heineken Cup is This is an annual rugby union competition involving leading club, regional, and provincial teams from Scotland, England, Ireland, Wales, France and Italy. The 2011-12 season sees Edinburgh play their Pool matches against Cardiff Blues, London Irish and Racing Métro 92, while Glasgow have been drawn against Bath Rugby, Leinster and Montpellier. 

Melrose Sevens
The Melrose Sevens is a major date in the rugby calendar, attracting huge crowds and teams from around the globe to the Scottish Borders. It is played on the second Saturday in April every year at Melrose Rugby Football Club, one of the oldest and most famous rugby clubs in the world. More than 20 teams from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and across Europe compete for the coverted title of Melrose Sevens Champions.

More info
Find out more about all things rugby in Scotland at the official home of Scottish Rugby.

rugby melrose2

action at the Melrose Sevens

Banner advert space